Road to the promotion

The Spanish Football Federation published this Monday the 16 teams that will fight for the four places in LaLiga SmartBank next season.

The Judge agreed to validate the table of the four groups (I, II, III and IV) of the Second Division B that existed when the competition was suspended as a result of COVID-19.

After this decision, the RFEF will carry out the draw of the promotion matches, the venue and the dates. The first idea is that all the qualifying rounds will be played in a single city and all in a week.

The Media Base Sports family will be represented in this ‘Express Play-off' in three teams: FC Barcelona B, with Monchu Rodríguez, Sergio Akieme, Sergi Puig and Nico González; Atlético de Madrid B, with Manu Sánchez, Óscar Clemente and Josep Calavera; and Bilbao Athletic, with Aitor Paredes and Beñat Prados.

The 16 teams that will participate in this Play-off are:

Group 1 – Atlético Baleares, Ibiza UD, Atlético de Madrid B, Peña Deportiva

Group 2 – UD Logroñés, Cultural Leonesa, Bilbao Athletic, Real Valladolid B

Group 3 – CD Castellón, FC Barcelona B, CE Sabadell, UE Cornellà

Group 4 – Cartagena FC, Marbella FC, CD Badajoz, CD Yeclano